Cart 0

Suzanne White

Author • Adventuress • Astrologer


Western Astrology (Sun Signs)

Year of the Rat

Western Sun Signs are based on the date, time and place you were born, and correspond to months of the year. Planetary configurations, specific to your birth date, help shape your individual character. Sun Signs have celestial names, corresponding mostly to constellations. They proceed through all 12 months of the year, starting with Aries and ending with Pisces. Learn more below about the 12 sun signs and gain some fascinating insight into your own personality. Next, go here to find out what your New Astrology™ sign is, combining both western and Chinese astrological principles. 

More About the 12 Western Zodiac Signs


Ruling Elements

Western astrology uses four ruling elements: Fire, Air, Earth, Water. Each Western astrological sign is ruled by one of these elements.

FIRE: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius.
 Fire signs are characterized by Movement, Obsession, Energy.

AIR: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius.
 Air signs are characterized by Receptiveness, Intellect, Aspiration.

EARTH: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn.
 Earth signs are characterized by Function, Practicality, Solidity.

WATER: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces.
 Water signs are characterized by Emotion, Compassion, Perception.


The Planets

Each sign in Western astrology is ruled by one or more of ten planets or heavenly bodies. These are the “stars” astrologers are always said to be gazing at. The planets influence a sign’s character. Their position in the heavens helps to predict the future.

Aries is ruled by Mars representing: Impulse, Action, Bravery

Taurus is ruled by Venus representing: Acceptance, Vanity, Love

Gemini is ruled by Mercury representing: the Intellect, Change, Adaptability

Cancer is ruled by the Moon representing: Receptivity, Emotion, Viscera

Leo is ruled by the Sun representing: Assertiveness, Will, Majesty

Virgo is ruled by Mercury representing: Analysis, Absorption, Logic

Libra is ruled by Venus representing: Sociability, Persuasion, Luxury

Scorpio is ruled by Mars and Pluto representing Courage, Creation, Passion

Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter representing: Expansion, Vision, Justice

Capricorn is ruled by Saturn representing: Solitude, Rigidity, Ambition

Aquarius is ruled by Saturn and Uranus representing: Individuality, Cosmic Consciousness, Obligation

Pisces is ruled by Neptune and Jupiter representing: Enigma, Inspiration, Compassion



Western astrology uses three different qualities: Cardinal, Fixed and Mutable.

CARDINAL: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn—Dynamic, Authoritative, Active, Energetic

 FIXED: Taurus, Scorpio, Leo, Aquarius—Concrete, Limited, Purposeful, Conscientious

MUTABLE: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces—Moving, Adaptable, Harmonizing, Versatile.